Follow The Link To Join Our WhatsApp Fan Page

 

What will happen to your WhatsApp account after May 15 if you do not accept the new privacy policy

WHATSAPP fans faced being blocked from popular chat app next week but the Facebook-owned firm has now confirmed that users won’t face a messaging ban on May 15.

WhatsApp states that the users’ accounts will not be deleted but the account will be subjected to limited functionality — users will no longer be able to send or read messages from the app. The users, however, will still be able to receive calls and notifications, but this will only be possible “for a short time.

newslite1620494804042 - WhatsApp Could Block Your Account On The 15th of May, Here Is Why

WhatsApp has been desperately trying to get its billions of users to sign up to new terms which were expected to come into force on May 15. Those not agreeing to the update faced being blocked from sending or receiving messages after that date but it seems the Facebook-owned firm is now be backtracking on this controversial update.

However, for those that have not yet had a chance to do so, their accounts will not be deleted or lose functionality on May 15. We’ll continue to provide reminders to those users within WhatsApp in the weeks to come.”

It’s unclear why WhatsApp has made this drastic move but it could simply be that millions haven’t said “yes” to the new terms and the company is worried about so many people losing access. Many had been left hugely unhappy about the change to WhatsApp’s terms with plenty of users adamant that they would not be hitting the “agree” button.

newslite1620494805611 - WhatsApp Could Block Your Account On The 15th of May, Here Is Why

The new WhatsApp terms and conditions are in response to a new feature being implemented on the app, which allows purchases and interaction with businesses

An announcement about the update was made earlier this year, but there was a backlash from some users who thought it meant WhatsApp would be sharing more data with its parent company, Facebook.

However, WhatsApp then clarified that this was not the case and that the update is in order to enable payments to be made.

Thanks for your reading time. Please share your thoughts with us in the comment section.

Article Question (AQ): Do You Feel That Your Data Is Safe In The Hands of Companies Like WhatsApp, Facebook, Etc.?

 

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Youngmaya.com. Youngmaya.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.

For Promotion And advertising Contact (+233) 0549156794

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here